The ADKAR® Model is an individual change model that represents the five milestones a person must achieve in order to change. It’s the first step an organization must take to change successfully.

The five phases of individual change are:

  • Awareness of the need for change
  • Desire to support the change
  • Knowledge of how to change
  • Ability to demonstrate new skills and behaviors
  • Reinforcement to make the change stick