In this video, we give a brief overview of the ADKAR model, what it is and how it works. ADKAR describes the five elements present in an individual who adopts a change.

These elements are:

  • Awareness
  • Desire
  • Knowledge
  • Ability
  • Reinforcement

This is the first video in a six-part series on the ADKAR model, where we take an in-depth look at each of these elements.

The model advises us that you must build these elements in a sequence. Starting with Awareness, then Desire, through to Knowledge, then Ability, and lastly, Reinforcement. The reason for this is that from Prosci’s ongoing research, we have found that individuals need to have the preceding elements in place before they can significantly build the next element.

Each of the five elements of ADKAR can be ranked between one and five, five being optimal. When you plot this on a graph you can identify the barrier point, which is the first element that scored three or below. The Barrier point represents the element that is stopping the individual from changing.

Though the core of the ADKAR model is the individual, it can also be applied to a group of impacted people.

Just as you have the ADKAR profile of an individual, everyone around them has their own ADKAR profiles for this change. By looking at the bigger picture and aggregating these results, a Change Manager can build large-scale plans to build ADKAR profiles for entire groups or even organizations.

Check out the rest of our ADKAR series for a detailed look at each of these ADKAR elements individually.